Wide Ranging Discussions

Daffodil: “Sarah has hair all over.”

Me: “Yes…”

Daffodil: “Our hair gets long, but hers doesn’t.”

Me: “No, hers just gets a certain length, and then it falls out.”

Daffodil: “And then it grows back! It’s like a cycle.”

Me: “Yes.”

Daffodil: “What does cycle mean?”

Me: “It’s something that goes around, that keeps repeating itself.”

Daffodil: “Like a unicycle!”

Me: “Yes. Do you know why it’s called a unicycle?”

Daffodil: “Why?”

Me: “It has a wheel that goes around and around, that’s the cycle part. Do you know what ‘uni’ means?”

Daffodil: “What?”

Me: “‘Uni’ means ‘one’. A unicycle has one wheel.”

Daffodil: “Do you remember when I was uni years old?”

Me (choking): “Yes I do.”

Daffodil: “I used to bite people.”

Me: “Yes, I remember.”

Daffodil: “I used to bite you all the time.”

Me: “Yes. I remember.”

Daffodil: “I used to bite Mama, too. But only on the breasts.”

Leave a Reply

