My Little Art Director Rides Again

MLAD Rides Again

Since this My Little Art Director business is starting to be A Thing, I should say a few words about Daffodil in that role.

I haven’t all that much experience with Art Directors per se. Most of the time I’ve dealt directly with clients, but, of course, they have their own ideas about what they want. Vague, contradictory, absurd ideas completely outside their budgets, but ideas, nevertheless. Which, okay, is not that different than the professional art directors I’ve dealt with…

Daffodil is, in this context, an excellent client. The remuneration is not great, but hey, cheapskate business clients are not a lot better. Daffodil is a demanding client, but she knows what she wants and likes it when she gets it. She’s very particular about some things, but she knows my style and doesn’t ask me to do it like Picasso or Sargent or Frazetta would. And, you know, hugs. All in all, my favorite Art Director so far. So, if you’re thinking of hiring me for something, consider her as a model. Except for the remuneration part. Baby needs new shoes.

Daffodil: “Papa, I want you to draw me a picture.”

Me: “Okay. What am I drawing?”

Daffodil: “A unicorn.”

Me: “Alright. Like this?”

Daffodil: “Yeth. It’s a girl unicorn.”

Me: “Okay.”

Daffodil: “Remember, it’s in front of a cave.”

Me: “Like this?”

Daffodil: “Yeth. What’s that? Eyes?”

Me: “Yes. Is that okay?”

Daffodil: “Yeth. It’s a dragon. An angry dragon.”

Me (I shade in the cave mouth): “How can you tell he’s angry?”

Daffodil: “He’s making lots of noises- grrrrr… rawrrrr!!!!! Growl! Roar! But the unicorn doesn’t care.”

Daffodil: “She says, “neigh.””

Unicorn

Leave a Reply

